Eight operators will not be changing timetables in December after May chaos

EIGHT train operators will not change their timetable in December as usual following May’s chaotic timetable problems.

The eight are: Northern, Govia Thameslink, Great Western Railway, CrossCountry, South Western Railway, TransPennine Express, West Midlands Trains, and London Overground.

Passengers on crowded platforms at East Croydon during the morning peak on July 5. MICHAEL SCRIVEN/PA IMAGES

Incoming Network Rail chief executive Andrew Haines was commissioned by Transport Secretary Chris Grayling and NR chairman Sir Peter Hendy to review plans for the winter timetable changes on December 9.

Article continues below...

Enjoy more Railway reading in the monthly magazine.
Click here to subscribe & save.

As a result, some operators will continue with the May 2018 timetable until May 2019, although some minor changes are expected to take place, with the aim of bringing improvements to Thameslink and Northern passengers who have been hit badly by all of the problems.

Read more News and Features in the August issue of The RM – on sale now!

Article continues below...

Subscribe to The Railway Magazine Enjoy more of The Railway Magazine reading every month. Click here to subscribe.